The Indian Pharmaceutical Association (IPA) has elected Dr B Suresh as the president of Pharmacy Council of India (PCI) to lead the team of office bearers for the term April 2008 to March 2010

Indian Pharmaceutical Association (IPA) is the national professional body of pharmacists engaged in various facets of the profession of pharmacy. Its mission is to promote the highest professional and ethical standards of pharmacy, focus the image of pharmacists as competent healthcare professionals, sensitise the community, government and others on vital professional issues and support pharmaceutical education and sciences in every aspects.

Dr B Suresh, Doctorate in Pharmacology and a Fellow of Indian Pharmaceutical Association is Principal of JSS College of Pharmacy, Ooty with an experience of over 25 years. He has received many awards including the FAPA Ishidate, Award for his services to the profession of pharmacy education and for social services.

The other elected office bearers are Raj Vaidya (chairman – Community Pharmacy Division), Prof T V Narayana (chairman – Education Division), Dr R N Gupta (chairman – Hospital Pharmacy Division), J A S Giri (chairman – Industrial Pharmacy Division), A Krishna Dev (chairman – Regulatory Affairs Division) and Ram Banarse – Hon. treasurer. Kaushik Desai has been elected as editor, Pharma Times whereas T B Nair will continue as the executive secretary of IPA for new term, announced IPA.