Industrial Toxicology Research Centre / Indian Nanoscience Society has organized International Conference on Nanomaterial Toxicology from today till 7th Feburary 2008. in Lucknow, India

The advent of nanotechnology has seen a substantial increase in research and technology development at the atomic, molecular or macromolecular levels using a scale of approximately 1-100 nm in any dimension. Also the creation and use of structures, devices and systems that have novel properties and functions because of their small size are now being explored. Nanomaterials are now finding use in all spheres of life. From construction materials to drug delivery and from chemistry and material sciences to consumer products.

During the conference several sessions will be organized to cover the advances and future perspectives in safety and toxicity of nanomaterials. A conclave of the pioneers in academia as well as industry in nanotechnology is also envisaged.

The conference will be an ideal platform for researchers and industry alike to interact with eminent scientists in the area of nanotechnology for open exchange of ideas and presentation of exciting scientific results.

Scientific sessions:

  • Nanomaterial Synthesis and Characterization
  • Nanomaterials in Pharmaceuticals
  • Models for Nanomaterial Safety and Toxicology
  • Nanosensors and Imaging in Nanomaterial Toxicology
  • Ethical and Regulatory Issues in Nanomaterial Toxicology
  • Impact of Nanomaterials on Environment and Ecosystem

List of speakers:

  1. Professor Micheline Kirsch-Volders, Laboratorium voor Cellulaire Genetica, Belgium
  2. Professor Harald F. Krug, Materials-Biology Interactions Lab, Empa, Switzerland
  3. Professor Tobias Stoeger, Institute of Inhalation Biology, Germany
  4. Dr. Wolfgang Kreyling, Institute for Inhalation Biologie, Germany
  5. Prof. Dr. Tilman Butz, University of Leipzig, Germany
  6. Professor, Marcello Lotti, Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy
  7. Dr.Francois Rossi, Institute for Health and Consumer Protection, Italy
  8. Professor Peter York, Institute of Pharmaceutical Innovation, United Kingdom
  9. Professor Mathias Brust, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
  10. Professor Nicholas Quirke, Vice President, University College Dublin & Professor of Physical Chemistry, Imperial College, London, United Kingdom
  11. Professor Diana Anderson, University of Bradford, United Kingdom
  12. Dr. Paul Thorning, Institute of Pharmaceutical Innovation, United Kingdom
  13. Dr. Swadeshmukul Santra, University of Central Florida, U.S.A.
  14. Professor Syed Ali, NCTR/USFDA, U.S.A.
  15. Professor Vicki Colvin, Rice University, U.S.A.
  16. Professor Ravindra Pandey, Michigan Technological University, U.S.A.
  17. Dr. Saber Hussain, Air Force Research Laboratory, U.S.A.
  18. Dr. Syed A. Hashsham, Michigan State University, U.S.A.
  19. Dr. Shashi P. Karna, US Army Research Laboratory, U.S.A.
  20. Dr. Sally S. Tinkle, NIEHS, USA
  21. Dr. H. Namazi, University of Tabriz, Iran
  22. Professor Denis Labarre, Université Paris Sud, France